More best.

Although I had some closer friends in college, I’m still not sure anyone ever “knew” me, particularly the introvert I was finding myself to be.  So, when I got married nearly 15 years ago, I didn’t have a lifelong friend or even a friendship five years in the making through which to identify my “best man.”

That said, I wed about 18 months out of school and had selected as groomsmen and my best man the men I wanted to continue to speak into my life for years to come – and to take care of my wife and children should I meet an early (by my standards) death.  I was fortunate to have had a few moments with one of my groomsmen last weekend at a wedding our families attended.  A great occasion that left me reflecting on what I was missing.

My best man decided to leave our circle of friends (and the congregation in which we had found ourselves at the time) less than two weeks after my wedding in 1997.  And that was the last time I truly had a best friend.

… to be continued…

This entry was posted in Friendships, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

