Father.

20120714-181958.jpg

I am blessed to be the Daddy of two girls that would be, according to society, too old to call me “Daddy”.

I remember nearly 12 years ago feeling overwhelmed holding my firstborn in my arms for the first time after getting the “all clear” from the doctor. How would I ever get through raising this beautiful person whose life I was to nurture? What about all the booboos, emotional and physical, I would be guarding her against and then helping her to walk through? Finally, how in the heavens does God do it with me, not to mention the whole of Hs family, the Church?

Fast forward 21 months and I was at it again, only this time, the little Princess was in NICU, being incubated to increase her blood’s oxygen level. I had to wait to hold that one. Four long hours while I alternately watched over her and my bride sleeping… Wanting desperately for everything to be as okay as the doctors had hoped for her as well.

Funny, I wondered how God is able to love every human being who ever lived. I mean, He loved Adam and Eve, Cain, Abel and Seth, Abraham, Sarah, Isaac, Ishmael, Jacob and Esau… ad infinitum. Surely, I could love two little girls unconditionally. The human capacity to love comes from the One who first loved us. So, it only makes sense.

And, you know what? I can. And I do. And I am grateful to be their father and seeing them grow in wisdom and wonder at the world He made.

This entry was posted in Parenting, Purpose, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

