Breathe.

20120725-192740.jpg I received a call from my durable medical equipment provider a few weeks ago reminding me it was time to reorder my supplies.

I’m a patient suffering with obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) and have been for just I over two years now. At least that is how long it has been since my diagnosis. I have probably had it since high school. I have some very special men in my life who turned me to CPAP therapy. It was at a retreat in Colorado in May of 2008 when five bunk mates (a few of whom I still hear from today) pulled an old fashioned intervention.

Well, it took me another year to climb onto the CPAP train, but thanks to those five men who genuinely cared enough about me, I am alive today.

It wasn’t until later that I realized I have been actually suffering from oxygen deprivation since at least my high school years. I slept though more US history classes than not, more college classes than anyone could possibly, and even a few meetings in high-visibility government locations from my contracting days.

I was too young to be getting up to use the bathroom in the middle of the night as much as I was and actually choked several times a year on my own stomach acid a la reflux.

Since I found therapy, I am actually a part of the lives of my bride and the Princesses and am no longer (as often) falling asleep for 4 hour naps on the sofa before going to bed for the night.

Gentlemen, I salute and thank you from the bottom of my heart for saving my life.

Now, if I could just lose some weight.

This entry was posted in Friendships, Reflections, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

