Snow.

Snow

I don’t know what it is, but it just brings a sense of dread over me.  It might be the area average snowfall where I live is approximately 120″ (304.8cm).  Or it might be that I survived a 5 day adventure in getting back to school in a little storm we called the “Blizzard of ’93”.  You know.  Before “Snowmageddon” or “Snowpocalypse” or “Frankenstorm”.  Back when storms were named after the year they happened.  And they were more than just a few feet of snow.

I just feel so overwhelmed even thinking of snow.  See, I saw on Weatherbug last night on my phone that we might have even a single inch (2.54cm) of snow today and I felt my heart hit the floor.  And that’s the way it’s going to be for the next 5 months or so.  I’m simply glad we didn’t have snow before Halloween – that’s happened here before.

I’ve been told (diagnosed with) that I have Seasonal Affective Disorder.  That’s just layman’s terms for a clinical diagnosis of Major Depressive Disorder, recurrent type with seasonal pattern.  But I have to wonder if I have an actual phobia over snow – Snow for crying out loud – after being stranded between various hotels and airports in 1993.  I was 19 at the time.

The irony of the Syracuse area is that the meteorologists have mentioned in the past that we won’t even get “real snow” until later in the winter.  I guess they don’t consider “lake effect” as snow.  Looks like snow to me.  I have to still clear the driveway (for the cars) and deck (for the puppy) several times a day.

I commented last night that I had seen that we were getting snow.  One of my high school classmates and childhood friends (sweet girl) suggested, sarcastically, that I needed a new phone.  At least she got a good chuckle out of me.

My more spiritual nature has “saluted” God for this aspect of the curse, though.  Yes, my warped sense of Christian theology says that snow is a function of the curse, post Fall of Man.  See, the Bible doesn’t mention snow at any point in time (briefly that it’s covered) when Adam and Eve were in the Garden of Eden.  Snow and winter storms cause death.  If it didn’t, we wouldn’t have car accidents and hypothermia, sure.  But we would have to mow the lawn and the flowers would be blooming.  QED, snow is one result of the curse.  Until God shows me otherwise.

On that note, if you are one to enjoy your winter, you have my blessing.  If you are not, then you have my blessing with my sincerest empathy.

This entry was posted in Ponderings, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

