Suck.

I’ll start off with a sincere apology for lack of an image. I’m somewhere above 16,000 feet in a Canadair Regional Jet and lack an internet connection. Hey, at least I have my iPad. Why the sour title? It is, after all, 4 days before Christmas, the day of the Winter Solstice, which opened the Roman celebration of Saturnalia (honoring their god, Saturn) and I somehow managed to survive the Mayan Apocalypse. Should be good times and celebrating, right?

Wrong. First, I was reminded while in the airport in Birmingham, AL that today is the anniversary of the terrorist bombing of Pan Am flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland, an event which took the lives of a few hundred, including Syracuse University students and classmates of some of my friends.

The personal suck is that I was on a business trip the week before Christmas. My wife works evenings, so the kids have had someone at the house Monday and Wednesday and I am supposed to be pulling in the driveway around 10:30pm tonight.

And it really looks like it’s not going to happen. I’m pissed. At myself for agreeing to the trip and at my boss for bullying me into the trip.

So, rather than enjoying some beers at the Philadelphia International Airport, I’ll be trying to rent a car and tooling up the road to get home before my plane, if it even is scheduled to fly.

The one saving grace, and it is grace is my friend Doug who not only offered me his sofa for the night, but also offered to come pick me up in the event that I cannot secure a vehicle this evening.

Here’s to brothers. And the grace of God for putting this good man in my life. As much as I want to get home, I might just enjoy his company tonight and finally meet his bride and his two incredibly gifted children rather than braving the weather.

Yes, that would be grace, too.

This entry was posted in Purpose. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

