Mentor.

I am blessed by a dear friend who mentored me early on in my journey of faith. The same man who officiated the wedding between me and my bride. It isn’t often that he and his wife make it to my neck of the woods, but when they do, my bride and I get to enjoy a meal and a few hours of time with them. And it is always good.

So, the last time he visited, I asked him about his vision for his life for the next ten years or so. He started sharing his ministry and where he looks to take them in their pursuit of God. I interrupted him and gently said, ”That’s all great stuff, but I’m not asking about that. I’m asking about you, and I know you don’t like to talk about yourself.” And I didn’t apologize for it,

So he shared some things close to his heart and I listened and encouraged him when I felt compelled.

When I called him yesterday to invite him to go whitewater rafting with me, completely forgetting he would be at the same wedding as my bride, he recalled the time we spent together during his last visit. He shared that it was a blessing to receive and ponder wisdom I imparted to him.

What an affirmation of our friendship and my calling as a counselor!

This entry was posted in Friendships, Ponderings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

