Near.

So, in a few weeks, I turn 40. Can’t say I’m overly thrilled to hit this major milestone in my life. On one hand, I feel like I have so much left to do. On the other, I wonder why I haven’t done more with my life.

This year, I will be obtaining my Master of Arts degree in Professional Counseling and working toward my license as well as my Credentialed Alcohol and Substance Abuse Counselor (CASAC) certification with the state. 5 years ago when I started this journey, I can’t say that I wanted to work with addicts. Now, I’m thrilled.

My bride and I will be celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary and our Princesses are 11 and 12. They are growing up to be beautiful, compassionate, and caring young ladies, just like their mother. I’m excited to be their Dad.

But, back to 40. My bride will be out of town attending the wedding of a dear friend and the Princesses visiting their aunt in Maryland. This is bittersweet. Bitter because they’ll be missing my birthday, and sweet because that means I get to avoid a party, even one in my honor. I will be blessed by some dear friends joining me for some class IV whitewater rafting and, I am sure, some beer and good conversation following.

I truly can hardly wait for that kind of celebration to usher in my 5th decade.

This entry was posted in Friendships, Ponderings, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

