Mountaintop.

Continuing from Risk

For decades, evangelicals have alluded to things that “God told me” or “hearing from Him” with many people wondering what that means.  Or what it looks like.  What if God actually continues to speak to us.  To you?  What if part of His purpose is to speak to us for the betterment of others through (dare I say) prophecy?  What if Scripture is not the sole means of revelation to Man?

What if Scripture is not a story for a particular time and place in the world, but an example of how God continues to work in the world today?  What if, like Adam and Even in Eden, He desires to walk with us every day of the lives which He freely gives?

I experienced this for myself, not at a proverbial mountaintop experience, but at 12,000 feet at a gathering of 450 or so men (all in the name of Jesus).  And, at His call, I didn’t  hesitate at the massive crowd that would normally scare the crap out of me.  See, the entire event wasn’t about the gathering, or about any shared activities, though I would experience those as well.  The event itself was an experience to be shared between the man and God.  A meeting of wills and, more importantly, of hearts.  Sure, there were 450 men there (eating, hiking, even visiting with one another), but the point of the experiences was “just a man and his God.”

I learned that weekend what He thought of me – and how wrong I was about any assumptions I had before.  And that He hurt with me over wrongs that had been done, even in His name.

I heard a solid message that weekend, too, about calling vs. assignment – about how many people (maybe even you) are working in jobs simply to make ends meet or pay the bills, or maintain a lifestyle.  But they do it without passion.  Without life.  We must chase life.  Proverbs 4:23 tells us, “Above all else, guard your heart for it is the wellspring of life.”  We need to be pursuing life!  To do so, we need to first, determine where the life lies – and where it doesn’t.

Life lies first, with Christ.  He even said, “I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life…,” a spring of living water, always flowing.  So, on that mountaintop, I learned more about Him – and about me.  And about walking together.

This entry was posted in Purpose, Reflections, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mountaintop.

  1. Pingback: Camp. | Roman Hokie's Tracks

Leave a Reply

