Stones.

So, I missed church today (Sunday), but I have a note from my doctor (actually, from the Physician’s Assistant).  A friend of mine even joked I was faking my illness in order to avoid a ministry fair at church.  My return of the volley was that it was a modest copay well-spent.  Honestly, the thought never occurred to me, despite not liking the “work the room” atmosphere of those things.  Introvert that I am.

In truth, I am in very real pain.  I have a 4mm (1/6″) kidney stone on the left kidney.  Fortunately for me, I’ve had them before (fortunately?!?!), so I knew what I was getting into when I woke up this morning.

Regardless, the PA wanted to do a CT scan with contrast (iodide) in order to check for something more severe.  Thankfully, I was correct in my assessment.

The PA, the phlebotomist, the radiology tech, and the nurses are fantastic.  I hate to admit it, but as much as going to the ER or Urgent care sucks, I do tend to enjoy the people I meet.  Just wonderful people who seem to like their jobs.

The last times I had stones, a dear “special ops paramedic” friend in another part of the world sat vigil, praying for me and recommending “paracetamol and 2 pints of bee-ah”.  Mostly praying – in Australia.

How do your friends support you in your physical struggles?

This entry was posted in Friendships, Humor, Ponderings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

