Apartment.

I graduated in 1996 from Virginia Tech.  I was very lucky to have a job lined up for 2 weeks after graduation.  My problem wasn’t that.  It was finding a place to live on my meager budget.  In the Washington, D.C. suburbs, no less.  My office locations were Chantilly and Arlington.  This was before the housing bubble and quite a bit before that bubble burst.  I don’t remember how I came to this, but I knew, based on what I found online (pre-Craigslist) I would have to sublease as a roommate.

I really am unable to remember the day of the week, but I remember getting in my new (to me) 1995 Nissan Sentra with my mother and heading south from my parents’ home in western/upstate New York.  It was about a 6 hour drive to get there.  We left at oh-dark-thirty.  My car, I drove.  And Mom was not to smoke in the car.  Period.

We got down there just after noon and had a crap ton of quarters for payphones – 1996 was a time before (gasp) the prevalence of affordable cell phones.  Ate lunch and started calling places all over the paper – the Washington Post.  We covered Alexandria (several places), Chantilly, Centreville, Oakton, Vienna, and Springfield.  The problem is that most people aren’t home from work until after 6pm, so it was a lot of driving and wasted time.  We ended up finding for me an upstairs of a Cape Cod.  $385 a month for 2 rooms and a bathroom, not including heating (oil!) or phone.

Pricey.  And then, we drove home, making it back to my parents’ house around 3-4am the next day.  All with undiagnosed Sleep Apnea.

Why did I share that?  Because I remembered it.  I’m going to be writing stuff just because I remember it.  Before I don’t remember it any longer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

